The Old Dominion Monarchs basketball team Reflects Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, United States at NCAA Division I men’s competition.

The college’s team currently competes at the Conference USA. They were the Division II national champions in 1975, champions of the inaugural Postseason Tournament in 2009, and champions of the inaugural Vegas 16 in 2016. The group played in 2019 in the Division I NCAA Tournament. The Monarchs are now coached by Jeff Jones.
Old Dominion University has enjoyed an outstanding basketball tradition. Since fielding its first team in 1930, Old Dominion has won 1,240 matches in 81 years, a winning percentage of .591. Founded in 1930 as the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, the institution gained independence in 1962 and became Old Dominion College. In 1969, University status was granted and the title was changed to Old Dominion University. The Monarchs are selected for postseason play 20 times since moving up to Division I in 1976–77, eight from the NCAA and ten by the NIT. Twenty-two players are accorded All-American honors since 1958, including first team selections Wilson Washington (1975–76), Joel Copeland (1973–74) and Dave Twardzik (1972–73).
Jeff Jones became the head coach of Old Dominion for its 2013-14 season and has led ODU 1 NIT Final Four appearance. Jones is currently 89-51 in four years as head coach of the Monarchs. Jeff Jones lead the Monarchs to the 2019 Conference USA Championship and also the 2019 NCAA Tournament in which they will play Purdue in the first round.

Read more: