The Michigan Wolverines men’s basketball team is the intercollegiate men’s basketball program representing the University of Michigan. The college competes in the Big Ten Conference in Section I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The Wolverines play home basketball games in the Crisler Center in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Michigan has won one NCAA Championship as well as two National Invitation Tournaments (NIT), two Big Ten Conference titles and two Big Ten Tournament titles. Additionally, it has won an NIT title and a Big Ten Championship which were vacated due to NCAA sanctions. The group is coached by Juwan Howard.
Michigan has had 31 All-Americans. Eight of these have been consensus All-Americans, which can be Cazzie Russell (two times), Rickey Green, Gary Grant, Chris Webber, Trey Burke, in addition to Harry Kipke, Richard Doyle and Bennie Oosterbaan (two-times) who were retroactively selected from the Helms Foundation. Twelve All-Americans have been at least two-time honorees. Russell was the only three-time All-American.
Michigan basketball players have been successful in professional basketball. Fifty-eight happen to be drafted into the National Basketball Association (NBA); twenty-six of these were first round draft selections, including both Cazzie Russell and Chris Webber that had been drafted first overall. The 1990 NBA draft in which Rumeal Robinson was selected 10th, Loy Vaught was chosen 13th, also Terry Mills was selected 16th made Michigan the third of ten schools which have had three or more players selected in the initial round of the identical draft. Five players have gone on to become NBA champions for a total of nine times and eight gamers have become NBA All-Stars a total of 18 times. Rudy Tomjanovich coached both the 1994 and 1995 NBA Finals Champions. Glen Rice is among just eight basketball players to have won a state high school championship, NCAA name and NBA championship.
Throughout the 1990s Michigan suffered an NCAA violations scandal, explained as between one of the largest amounts of illicit money in NCAA history, even when Ed Martin devoting four gamers a reported amount of $616,000. Due to NCAA sanctions, records in the 1992 Final Four, the 1992–93 year, and 1995–99 seasons have been vacated. Throughout this article asterisks denote awards, records and honors that have been vacated.

Read more: